ITHACA ALUMNAE CHAPTER  Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

The original artwork is a life-sized painting on canvas created by artist Tarleton Blackwell. The original hangs in the National Headquarters Office in Washington, D.C.

Local History

On February 2, 1980, in St. James AME Zion Church, Ithaca Alumnae Chapter was chartered by the National Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.  Rev. W. Pender III, St. James’ pastor gave the Welcome, Soror C. Armstead, Delta’s Eastern Regional Director, was guest speaker and the late Mr. James Gibbs gave the Community’s Response.  The sixteen chapter founders began Ithaca Alumnae Chapter with a solemn pledge to foster high ideals in the moral, social and intellectual like of the community.

Myrtle Bell, N. Yolanda Burwell, Earlene Carr, Eloise Curry, Otelia Duboise, Ida Futch, Dorothy Garner, Shirley Harrell, Joycelyn Hart, Mary Knox, Shiriki Kumanyika, Violet McGirth, Vashti Peagler, Marjorie Penalver, Eleanor Rice, Ernestine Walker



National History

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. was founded on January 13, 1913 by 22 collegiate women at Howard University. These students wanted to use their collective strength to promote academic excellence and to provide assistance to those in need. In March of 1913, the Founders of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. performed their first public act. They participated in the Women's Suffrage March in Washington, D.C.

The Grand Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. has a membership of over 200,000 predominately African-American, college-educated women, with 900-plus chapters located in countries throughout the world.

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. was incorporated in 1930.

Visit Delta Sigma Theta’s national website at

First Row: Winona Cargile Alexander, Madree Penn White, Wertie Blackwell Weaver,
Vashti Turley Murphy, Ethel Cuff Black, Frederica Chase Dodd

Second Row: Osceola Macarthy Adams, Pauline Oberdorfer Minor, Edna Brown Coleman,
Edith Motte Young, Marguerite Young Alexander, Naomi Sewell Richardson, Eliza P. Shippen

Third Row: Zephyr Chisom Carter, Myra Davis Hemmings, Mamie Reddy Rose, Bertha Pitts Campbell, Florence Letcher Toms, Olive Jones, Jessie McGuire Dent, Jimmie Bugg Middleton, Ethel Carr Watson